Great Yeldham Cottage Garden Society

Home page . Other shows: 2011  . 2012  . 2013 
2010 Annual Show Report

On September 11th we had another successful and enjoyable annual show at St. Andrew's School. We had 67 exhibitors, slightly up on last and as usual, divided more or less equally between children and adults. Between them they made a total of 326 entries. After a low entry last year, the fruit and vegetables entries showed a welcome revival thanks to a few keen growers. Cookery and photography continue to be well supported, but we would welcome some more craft entries.

The winners were:

The RHS Banksian Medal: Mrs. P. Osgood for most points in the flowers and vegetable sections, excluding winners in the previous two years.

Section A, fruit and vegetables: F. Partridge, the Bert Partridge Cup for most points, 14 first, 5 second, 1 third prizes; Mrs J. Williams, 3 firsts, 9 seconds, 5 thirds; T. Barber, the Warren Cup for best exhibit, 2 firsts, 2 thirds; Mrs A. Burrows, 1 first, 3 seconds, 2 thirds; Mrs P. Osgood, 1 first, 2 seconds; Abbie Bennett, 1 first; Lauren Chinery, 1 first; Theo Gray, 1 first; P. Rawlinson, 1 first; Mrs R. Watkins, 1 second, 3 thirds; Mrs A. Barber, 1 second; Thomas Gentry, 1 second; Mrs A. James, 1 second. Judge: Mrs. Y. Bishop.

Section B, flowers and pot plants: Mrs P. Osgood the Rose Bowl for most points, 4 firsts, 2 seconds, 1 third; Mrs J. Williams, the Jack Richardson Salver for best Rose, 2 firsts, 2 secods, 1 third; Mrs R. Chamberlain, the Augustine Courtauld Cup for best exhibit, 2 firsts; Mrs V. Hyland, 1 first, 5 seconds; Mrs A. Burrows, 1 second; Mrs R. Watkins, 1 third. Judge: Mrs Y. Bishop.

Section C, Floral Art: Mrs. P. Slimming, The Halstead Co-operative Society Cup for best exhibit, 1 first; Mrs. V. Gentry, 1 second; Mrs. V. Hyland, 1 third. Judge: Mrs Y. Bishop.

Section D, Cookery: Mrs C. Rutter, the Mrs P. Innes Cup for most points, 6 firsts, 4 seconds, 2 thirds; Mrs V. Gentry, the Groves Cup for best Rich Fruit Cake, 6 firsts, 3 seconds, 3 thirds; Mrs S. Murray, 2 firsts, 3 seconds, 1 third; Mrs J. Bennett, 2 firsts; Mrs S. Mackinnon, 1 first, 2 seconds, 4 thirds; Mrs A. Burrows, 1 first, 2 seconds, 1 third; Mrs R. Watkins, 1 first, 1 second, 1 third; Mrs J. Williams, 4 seconds, 2 thirds; Mrs V. Uffindell 2 thirds; Mrs C. Gray, 1 third; Edward Murray, 1 third; Mrs P. Osgood, 1 third; P. Rawlinson, 1 third. Judge: Mrs. P. Westland.

Section E, Craft: Mrs J. Bannerman, 1 first; P. Hyland, the Goodchild Cup for best exhibit, 1 first; Mrs. V. Hyland, the Cohen Rose Bowl for best hand knitting over 4 ply, 1 first; Mrs K. Saunders, 1 first; Mrs P. Slimming 1 first; Mrs B. Poynter 2 seconds; Mrs V. Gentry, 2 seconds; Mrs N. Collier, 1 second; P. Farley, 1 second; Mrs. V. Uffindell, 1 second; Dr. H. Chamberlain, 1 third; Mrs. K. Cooper, 1 third. Judge: Mrs B. Kersey.

Section F, Photography: Mrs. S. Waterhouse, the Darkins Cup for most points, 3 firsts, 1 second; Tamar Leppard, 3 firsts; Mrs A. Burrows, 2 firsts, 2 seconds; Ben Gentry, 1 first, 1 second, 3 thirds; T. Barber, 1 first, 1 second; Mrs S. Mackinnon, the White Hart Cup for best exhibit, 1 first, 3 seconds; Mrs A. Barber, 2 seconds; Lauren Chinery, 1 second, 3 thirds; Abbie Bennett, 1 second; Charlotte Bennett, 1 second; Mrs. J. Bennett, 1 second; P. Rawlinson, 2 thirds. Judge: Mr. D. Collis.

Section G, Children's classes: Charlotte Bennett, 2 firsts, 1 third; Angharad Nichols, 2 firsts; Thomas Gentry, the Mrs Legge Cup for best exhibit, 1 first, 1 second, 1 third; April Ball, 1 first; Abbie Bennett, 1 first; Tamar Leppard, 1 first; Ioan Nichols, 1 first; Daniel Mackinnon, 2 seconds; Ben Gentry 1 second; Joe Jordan, 1 second; Nadine Mills, 1 second; Ewan James, 1 third; Ellie Saunders, 1 third. Judges: Richard and Jennie Caink.

Mark Wood, Show Secretary.

Validated as HTML5

3 Apr 2013